Talladega Superspeedway

Talladega Superspeedway (2.66 miles, Super Speedway, tri-oval) in Talladega, Alabama

At the Talladega Superspeedway, two of the four "restrictor-plate" races are held, in which the engine power is throttled with air restrictors to the speeds under 200 mph to keep (320 km / h). The high speeds are only due to the thickness of such tracks like Daytona and Talladega just possible, with the track in Alabama is even the larger of the two: 2.66 miles (4.28 km) is a spin on the Super Speedway long and the curves are inflated with 33 °. Come to this insane Banking else zoom only Daytona (31 °) and the Bristol Motor Speedway (28-30 °). Rusty Wallace has confirmed in 2004 impressively, the implications of these dimensions: In a test with no air restrictors he reached a top speed of 228 mph (367 km / h) on the back straight, what a round average of 221 mph (355 km / h) with the result. But this is not the official course record, because it was not set up during a race weekend.

The record for eternity holds namely Bill Elliott with his pole lap from the year 1987, when he with a speed of 212.809 mph (342.482 km / h) moved his Ford Thunderbird around the oval - on average, mind you! During the actual race a day later then lost Bobby Allison after a puncture his Buick and took off in a row a spin. Allison's car hit his tail into the catch fence. Similar to Carl Edwards' accident in the spring of 2009, with also some spectators were injured by flying debris. The difference between the two accidents: Edwards Ford "surfed" with the roof ahead of the catch fence, which threw him back eventually quickly get back on track, while Allison an entire portion of the fence completely aroused the. "Roof flaps", ie the moving flaps on the roof of the car, their assertion is to prevent lifting, only in 1994 were introduced. While they could have prevented Allison's impact, they were in Edwards' accident powerless. The # 99 was already on the way to the ground after the "flaps" another upgrade after Dreher prevented, but was unhappy hit by Ryan Newman, who carried the Ford back into the air.

The events in 1987 had then the introduction of the "restrictor plates" made in, while the recent crash of an increase in the catch fences from 14 to 22 feet (4.26 m to 6.71 m). Also applicable to the super speedways the "impound" procedure, which has been introduced for reasons of cost. After two free practice sessions on Friday followed by qualifying on Saturday. Afterwards no major changes may not be carried to the car. Because of the "restrictor plates" would go with a wholly-owned qualifying setup and expensive special parts of a whole lot more on speed. This procedure is intended to prevent the large financially strong teams here have an advantage because they could rebuild their cars will. NASCAR wants all cars on the track are traveling possible only in race trim, so that costs and time can be saved.

13.791 total views, 27 views today

5 Comments to "Talladega Superspeedway"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Talladega Superspeedway (2,66 Meilen, Superspeedway, Trioval) in Talladega, Alabama

Auf dem Talladega Superspeedway werden zwei der vier „restrictor-plate“-Rennen ausgetragen, bei denen die Motorleistung mit Luftmengenbegrenzern gedrosselt wird, um die Geschwindigkeiten unter 200 mph (320 km/h) zu halten. Die hohen Geschwindigkeiten sind nur aufgrund der Mächtigkeit solcher Strecken wie Daytona und eben Talladega möglich, wobei die Strecke in Alabama sogar die größere der beiden ist: 2,66 Meilen (4,28 km) ist eine Runde auf dem Superspeedway lang und die Kurven sind mit 33° überhöht. An dieses wahnsinnige Banking kommen sonst nur Daytona (31°) und der Bristol Motor Speedway (28-30°) heran. Rusty Wallace bestätigte 2004 eindrucksvoll, welche Konsequenzen diese Dimensionen haben: Bei einem Test ohne Luftmengenbegrenzer erreichte er eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 228 mph (367 km/h) auf der Gegengeraden, was einen Rundendurchschnitt von 221 mph (355 km/h) zur Folge hatte. Das ist aber nicht der offizielle Streckenrekord, weil er nicht während eines Rennwochenendes aufgestellt wurde.

Den Rekord für die Ewigkeit hält nämlich Bill Elliott mit seiner Pole-Runde aus dem Jahr 1987, als er seinen Ford Thunderbird mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 212,809 mph (342,482 km/h) um das Oval bewegte – im Durchschnitt wohlgemerkt! Beim eigentlichen Rennen einen Tag später verlor dann Bobby Allison nach einem Reifenschaden seinen Buick und hob in Folge eines Drehers ab. Allisons Wagen schlug mit dem Heck in den Fangzaun ein. Ähnlich wie bei Carl Edwards‘ Unfall im Frühjahr 2009 wurden dabei auch einige Zuschauer von umherfliegenden Trümmerteilen verletzt. Der Unterschied zwischen den beiden Unfälle: Edwards Ford „surfte“ mit dem Dach voraus am Fangzaun entlang, der ihn letztendlich schnell wieder auf die Strecke zurückwarf, während Allison gleich eine ganze Portion des Zaunes komplett mitriss. „roof flaps“, also die beweglichen Klappen auf dem Dach der Wagen, deren Aufstellen ein Abheben verhindern soll, wurden erst 1994 eingeführt. Während sie Allisons Einschlag hätten verhindern können, waren sie bei Edwards‘ Unfall machtlos. Die #99 war schon wieder auf dem Weg zum Boden, nachdem die „flaps“ ein weiteres Aufsteigen nach dem Dreher verhinderten, wurde aber unglücklich von Ryan Newman getroffen, der den Ford wieder in die Luft beförderte.

Die Geschehnisse im Jahr 1987 hatten dann die Einführung der „restrictor plates“ zur Folge, während der jüngste Crash für eine Erhöhung der Fangzäune von 14 auf 22 feet (4,26 m auf 6,71 m) sorgte. Zusätzlich gilt auf den Superspeedways die „impound“-Prozedur, welche aus Kostengründen eingeführt worden ist. Nach zwei freien Trainings am Freitag folgt das Qualifying am Samstag. Danach dürfen an den Wagen keinerlei größere Veränderungen mehr vorgenommen werden. Wegen der „restrictor plates“ ginge mit einem hundertprozentigen Qualifying-Setup und teuren Sonderteilen noch eine Menge mehr an Speed. Dieses Vorgehen soll verhindern, dass die großen finanzstarken Teams hier einen Vorteil haben, weil sie ihre Wagen beliebig umbauen könnten. NASCAR möchte, dass alle Autos möglichst nur im Renntrimm auf der Strecke unterwegs sind, damit Kosten und Zeit gespart werden.

25,179 total views, 63 views today