Texas Motor Speedway (1.5 miles, Intermediate, Quad Oval) in Fort Worth, Texas

The Texas Motor Speedway is a 1.5-mile oval in the same form as Atlanta or Charlotte and is therefore also known as the sister track. All three ovals have a banking of 24 ° and the characteristic double kinked start / finish line, but Texas is about 35 years younger than his sisters. Other features of the speedways are firstly the extremely high price of money: Since the pot is well filled, of course, get the start - & - Park-entries a bigger piece of the pie than usual, making it a very attractive participation. The race in Texas offer the winner a half million dollars and that is the third largest prize money after the Daytona 500 ($ 1.5 million) and the All-Star Race ($ 1 million), ahead of classics like Indy or the Coca Cola 600, they have to offer just less than half a million dollars. Second, the spectator capacity with 191,122 places after the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (at least 257,325.) Is the second largest in NASCAR, even before the two super speedways (Talladega: 175,000, Daytona: 167785) and the Lowe's Motor Speedway (167,000).

Since 1997, the Cup a guest at the Texas Motor Speedway and since 2005 there is also a second race of the season. At that time, Texas and Phoenix each got an appointment from Rockingham and Darlington awarded one of the most controversial calendar adjustments NASCAR history. Rockingham had will no longer represented in the racing scene and the "Lady in Black" lost its traditional Labor Day race, the Southern 500 is true since last year, the only surviving Darlington race back the legendary name, but is now found at Mother's Day instead. The Texas Motor Speedway is thus represented in the Chase since 2005.

For the IndyCars the Texas Motor Speedway is synonymous with the super speedways of NASCAR. Flat-out it goes for the open wheel vehicles through the four turns, so often breathtaking slipstream duels are seen. 2011 divided the IndyCar officials the race in Texas trial basis in two sub-events on in which each half of the normal points were awarded. This concept has not been successful after complaints of drivers over the upturned boot sequence in the second race.

Celebrity in the Formula scene gained the Oval in 2001, when the "Firestone Firehawk 600" the former CART series had to be canceled due to high speeds: Paul Tracy reached in free practice on Saturday a record speed of 236,678 mph (380,896 km / h) at the Texas Motor Speedway in G-forces by a factor of 5 for about 3/4 of the round. After practice and qualifying reported 21 of the 25 participating drivers of dizziness when they had driven more than 10 rounds. Patrick Carpentier could not walk properly straight, for example, ten minutes after disembarking. The IndyCars as a G-Overload can not happen, however, because CART seinerseit turbo engines began, which were much higher speeds than possible with today's suction units. In Wikipedia there is to this, in connection canceled, race nor a complete, very interesting article .

17.973 total views, 23 today views

Texas Motor Speedway (1,5 Meilen, Intermediate, Quadoval) in Fort Worth, Texas

Der Texas Motor Speedway ist ein 1,5-Meilen-Oval in derselben Form wie Atlanta oder Charlotte und wird deshalb auch als deren Schwesterstrecke bezeichnet. Alle drei Ovale haben ein Banking von 24° und die charakteristische, doppelt geknickte Start/Ziel-Gerade, jedoch ist Texas ca. 35 Jahre jünger als seine Schwestern. Weitere Besonderheiten des Speedways sind zum einen das besonders hohe Preisgeld: Da der Topf gut gefüllt ist, bekommen natürlich auch die Start-&-Park-Entries ein größeres Stück vom Kuchen als sonst, was eine Teilnahme sehr attraktiv macht. Die Rennen in Texas bieten dem Sieger eine halbe Million Dollar und das ist das drittgrößte Preisgeld nach dem Daytona 500 (1,5 Mio $) und dem All-Star-Rennen (1 Mio. $), noch vor Klassikern wie Indy oder dem Coca-Cola 600, die nur knapp weniger als die halbe Million Dollar zu bieten haben. Zum anderen ist die Zuschauerkapazität mit 191.122 Plätzen nach dem Indianapolis Motor Speedway (mind. 257.325) die zweitgrößte in der NASCAR, noch vor den beiden Superspeedways (Talladega: 175.000, Daytona: 167.785) und dem Lowe’s Motor Speedway (167.000).

Seit 1997 gastiert der Cup auf dem Texas Motor Speedway und seit 2005 gibt es auch ein zweites Saisonrennen. Damals bekamen Texas und Phoenix jeweils einen Termin von Rockingham und Darlington zugesprochen, eine der kontroversesten Kalenderanpassungen der NASCAR-Geschichte. Rockingham war dann gar nicht mehr im Renngeschehen vertreten und die „Lady in Black“ verlor ihr traditionelles Labor-Day-Rennen, das Southern 500. Zwar hat seit dem letzten Jahr das einzig verbliebene Darlington-Rennen wieder die legendäre Bezeichnung, findet nun aber am Muttertag statt. Der Texas Motor Speedway ist seit 2005 also auch im Chase vertreten.

Für die IndyCars ist der Texas Motor Speedway gleichbedeutend mit den Superspeedways der NASCAR. Flat-out geht es für die Open-Wheel-Fahrzeuge durch die vier Turns, sodass oft atemberaubende Windschattenduelle zu sehen sind. 2011 spalteten die IndyCar-Offiziellen das Rennen in Texas testweise in zwei Teil-Events auf, bei denen jeweils die Hälfte der normalen Punkte vergeben wurden. Dieses Konzept hat sich nach Beschwerden der Fahrer über die umgedrehte Startreihenfolge im zweiten Rennen jedoch nicht durchgesetzt.

Berühmtheit in der Formel-Szene erlangte das Oval 2001, als das „Firestone Firehawk 600“ der damaligen CART-Serie wegen zu hoher Geschwindigkeiten abgesagt werden musste: Paul Tracy erreichte im Freien Training am Samstag eine Rekord-Geschwindigkeit von 236.678 mph (380.896 km/h) auf dem Texas Motor Speedway, bei G-Kräften mit Faktor 5 für ca. 3/4 der Runde. Nach Training und Qualifying berichteten 21 der 25 teilnehmenden Fahrer von Schwindelgefühlen, wenn sie mehr als 10 Runden gefahren waren. Patrick Carpentier konnte beispielsweise für zehn Minuten nach dem Aussteigen nicht mehr richtig geradeaus laufen. Bei den IndyCars kann so ein G-Overload allerdings nicht mehr passieren, da CART seinerseit Turbomotoren einsetzte, mit denen wesentlich höhere Geschwindigkeiten möglich waren als mit den heutigen Saugaggregaten. Bei Wikipedia gibt es zu diesem, im Anschluss abgesagten, Rennen noch einen kompletten, sehr interessanten Artikel.

20,409 total views, 39 views today