Pocono Raceway

Pocono Raceway (2.5 miles, Intermediate / Super Speedway, Unique) in Long Pond, Pennsylvania

The track characteristics of Pocono Raceway, which owes its name to the surrounding hills, not really speak for the known stock stiff race. At 2.5 miles the trail is actually a Super Speedway, but can rather be classified as Indianapolis: Long, but has an insufficient banking in order to achieve higher cornering speeds. The tri-oval has three completely different turns, each reminiscent of other circuits: Turn 1 is similar with 14 ° banking the defunct Trenton Speedway, during Turn 2 is the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for loan. This curve with 8 ° rise is also "Tunnel Turn" because there is the entrance to the infield under her. The Tunnel Turn, which is considered difficult to drive than is regularly the scene of spectacular cross-stayer and wall contacts. Turn 3 is similar to the Milwaukee Mile with 6 °.

Of course, this characteristic represents a compromise tuning of cars, one can not in any of the three different curves perfectly lying in the street and that's probably also turn 2 so difficult to control. Due to the low Banking you must also be a compromise between speed and output place. Both the curves should be able to drive through fast, as will also find a competitive top speed on the very long straights. Actually, the Speedway is therefore rather a challenge for the engineers and not as exciting for the fans. After all, you finally went now a to the demands of most of the parties and travels since 2012 only 400 miles in Pocono.

For several years, arguing already publicly and internally about the meaning and purpose of a second race of the season on the tri-oval in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. On the plus side is probably the one hand, the good relationship with the Mattioli family, one of the last independent Speedway owner in Sprint Cup. Dover and Indy are the others, the last independent of SMI and ISC tracks. On the other hand, is just the little explored north-eastern American market for the NASCAR very interesting. A race around New York is just as attractive as the race at the Auto Club Speedway near Hollywood. So it all depends sometimes on long hamlets when the convenient location is right.

Fortunately, those responsible for the Pocono Raceways now have at least the - revised security measures of the oval and passed massive improvement of security in the way - long time ailing: After two serious accidents by Kasey Kahne and Elliott Sadler in 2010, for example, got the backstretch at last the long-awaited outer catch fence, which the oval is now completely fenced. In addition, a SAFER Barrier was installed on the inside of the infamous back straight, which replaced the last nurmehr ridiculous highway guardrail. What is still missing is the elimination of lawn at this point in favor of an asphalt run-off area. The impact of Sadler was also the hardest, NASCAR has recorded for accident research since the introduction of electronic black boxes to date of the race action!

11.937 total views, 3 views today

6 Comments to "Pocono Raceway"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pocono Raceway (2,5 Meilen, Intermediate/Superspeedway, Unique) in Long Pond, Pennsylvania

Die Streckencharakteristik des Pocono Raceway, der seinen Namen der umliegenden Hügelkette zu verdanken hat, spricht eigentlich nicht für die bekannten stocksteifen Rennen. Mit 2,5 Meilen ist die Strecke eigentlich ein Superspeedway, kann aber eher wie Indianapolis eingestuft werden: Lang, hat aber ein zu geringes Banking, um höhere Kurvengeschwindigkeiten zu erreichen. Das Trioval besitzt drei komplett unterschiedliche Turns, die jeweils anderen Rennstrecken nachempfunden sind: Turn 1 ähnelt mit 14° Banking dem nicht mehr existierenden Trenton Speedway, während Turn 2 dem Indianapolis Motor Speedway entliehen ist. Diese Kurve mit 8° Überhöhung wird auch „Tunnel Turn“ genannt, weil sich unter ihr die Zufahrt zum Infield befindet. Der Tunnel-Turn, welcher als schwer zu fahren gilt, ist regelmäßig der Schauplatz spektakulärer Quersteher und Mauerkontakte. Turn 3 ist mit 6° ähnlich der Milwaukee Mile.

Diese Charakteristik bedeutet natürlich eine Kompromissabstimmung der Autos, man kann in keiner der drei unterschiedlichen Kurven perfekt auf der Straße liegen und das macht wohl auch Turn 2 so schwer beherrschbar. Durch das geringe Banking muss man außerdem einen Kompromiss zwischen Geschwindigkeit und Abtrieb finden. Sowohl die Kurven sollte man flott durchfahren können, als auch eine konkurrenzfähige Endgeschwindigkeit auf den sehr langen Geraden finden. Eigentlich ist der Speedway daher vielmehr eine Herausforderung für die Ingenieure und nicht so spannend für die Fans. Immerhin ging man mittlerweile endlich auf die Forderungen der meisten Beteiligten ein und fährt seit 2012 nur noch 400 Meilen in Pocono.

Seit einigen Jahren streitet man ja bereits öffentlich sowie intern über den Sinn und Zwecks eines zweiten Saisonrennens auf dem Trioval in Long Pond, Pennsylvania. Auf der Habenseite steht wohl einerseits das gute Verhältnis zur Mattioli-Familie, einer der letzten unabhängigen Speedwaybesitzer im Sprint Cup. Dover und Indy sind die anderen, letzten von SMI und ISC unabhängigen Strecken. Andererseits ist gerade der wenig erschlossene Nord-Ost-amerikanische Markt für die NASCAR sehr interessant. Ein Rennen in der Nähe von New York ist ebenso attraktiv wie das Rennen auf dem Autoclub Speedway in der Nähe von Hollywood. So kommt es halt manchmal zu Langweilern, wenn die günstige Lage stimmt.

Glücklicherweise haben die Verantwortlichen des Pocono Raceways mittlerweile wenigstens die – lange Zeit maroden – Sicherheitsmaßnahmen des Ovals überarbeitet und massive Verbesserung der Sicherheit in die Wege geleitet: Nach zwei schweren Unfällen von Kasey Kahne und Elliott Sadler 2010 bekam zum Beispiel die Gegengerade endlich den lange ersehnten äußeren Fangzaun, womit das Oval nun komplett umzäunt ist. Zusätzlich wurde auf der Innenseite der berüchtigten Gegengeraden eine SAFER-Barrier installiert, welche die zuletzt nurmehr lächerliche Autobahn-Leitplanke ersetzte. Was noch fehlt ist die Beseitigung der Rasenfläche an dieser Stelle zugunsten einer asphaltierten Auslaufzone. Der Einschlag von Sadler war übrigens der härteste, den NASCAR seit der Einführung von elektronischen Black-Boxen bis dato im Renngeschehen zur Unfallforschung aufgezeichnet hat!

19,889 total views, 19 views today