New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1 mile, short track, 2x 180 °-turns) in Loudon, New Hampshire

The track in the Pacific Northwest is an oval with a length of 1,058 miles, a superelevation of 12% (about 7 °) and offers approximately 100,000 spectators. Twenty years ago, opened the racetrack and the race of the Sprint Cup since 1993 are held here. Since 1997, a second race of the season takes place regularly. Before the Speedway was better known in the open Wheelern, CART and Indy cars there regularly turned their rounds.

In 2000, Adam Petty and Kenny Irwin Jr were in New Hampshire their life and also after Dale Earnhardt Sr 2001 Daytona was killed, did you look at it, restructure the Speedway and introduced new safety measures in the car. The teams were required to install a kind of emergency switch in the car so that in case of a stuck accelerator pedal, the engine can be turned off. When Petty and Irwin without this breaker before the frontal impact was not possible timely braking more. Before 2003, finally, a SAFER Barrier was installed, the banking got donated an overhaul: Part of the apron of the road was added and beaten increased to 4 °, in the direction outdoor wall Superelevation now rises to 7 ° at. Here it is likely to have acted but rather a measure to improve the quality of the race.

The New Hampshire Motor Speedway is also for the introduction of the "immediate Caution" incl. "Free pass rule" responsible. Until 2003, it was common that by the beginning of a caution period at the finish line, the round was finished even with racing speed. As Dale Jarrett stopped his car after an accident on the track, he ran the risk of another car being hit, which is a "race back to the caution flag" fought. The so-called "lucky dog", ie the "lucky" that controls the first vehicle behind the leader, which has a round residue gets back given his round of NASCAR. This was necessary because previously a "gentlemen's agreement" to the drivers on the lead lap commanded to let pass the lapped competition at the "race to the flag."

21.505 total views, 111 views today

New Hampshire Motor Speedway

New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1 Meile, Short Track, 2x 180°-Turns) in Loudon, New Hampshire

Die Strecke im Nordwesten der USA ist ein Oval mit der Länge von 1.058 Meilen, einer Kurvenüberhöhung von 12% (etwa 7°) und bietet ca. 100.000 Zuschauern Platz. Vor zwanzig Jahren eröffnete die Rennbahn und seit dem Jahre 1993 werden hier auch die Rennen des Sprint Cups ausgetragen. Seit 1997 findet auch regelmäßig ein zweites Saisonrennen statt. Vorher war der Speedway eher bei den Open-Wheelern bekannt, CART und IndyCars drehten dort regelmäßig ihre Runden.

Im Jahr 2000 ließen Adam Petty und Kenny Irwin Jr in New Hampshire ihre Leben und nachdem auch Dale Earnhardt Sr 2001 in Daytona tödlich verunglückte, machte man sich daran, den Speedway umzubauen und führte neue Sicherheitsvorkehrungen in den Autos ein. Die Teams wurden verpflichtet, eine Art Notausschalter in die Wagen einzubauen, damit im Fall eines steckengebliebenen Gaspedals der Motor abgeschaltet werden kann. Bei Petty und Irwin war ohne diesen Unterbrecher kein rechtzeitiges Abbremsen mehr vor dem Frontaleinschlag möglich. Bevor 2003 schließlich eine SAFER-Barrier installiert wurde, bekam das Banking eine Generalüberholung spendiert: Ein Teil des Aprons wurde der Fahrbahn hinzugeschlagen und auf 4° erhöht, in Richtung Außenmauer steigt die Kurvenüberhöhung nun bis auf 7° an.  Hier dürfte es sich aber eher um eine Maßnahme zur Qualitätsverbesserung der Rennen gehandelt haben.

Der New Hampshire Motor Speedway ist auch für die Einführung der “sofortigen Caution” inkl. “free pass rule” verantwortlich. Bis 2003 war es noch üblich, dass bis zum Beginn einer Gelbphase an der Ziellinie noch mit Renngeschwindigkeit die Runde beendet wurde. Als Dale Jarrett mit seinem Auto nach einem Unfall auf der Strecke stehen blieb, lief er Gefahr von anderen Wagen getroffen zu werden, welche sich ein “race back to the caution flag” lieferten. Der sogenannte “lucky dog”, also der “Glückspilz” welcher das erste Fahrzeug hinter dem Führenden steuert, welches eine Runde Rückstand hat, bekommt seine Runde von NASCAR zurück geschenkt. Dies wurde nötig, weil zuvor ein “gentlemen’s agreement” den Fahrern in der Führungsrunde gebot, die überrundete Konkurrenz beim “race to the flag” überholen zu lassen.

12,549 total views, 7 views today

6 Kommentare zu “New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *