Las Vegas Motor Speedway (1.5 miles, Intermediate, D-shaped) in Las Vegas, Nevada

The oval in the desert of Nevada is one of the so prominently represented in the calendar "cookie cutter" -Rennstrecken. This term refers to the 1.5-mile speedway, which all look as if they had been gouged out with the same gigantic cookie mold. Strictly speaking, however, we must distinguish between the vastly inflated quad-ovals of Speedway Motorsports Inc (Atlanta, Charlotte, Texas) and the D-range of shaped and tri-ovals of NASCAR's International Speedway Corporation (Chicagoland, Kansas). For this purpose, the ISC has yet to Homestead-Miami Speedway with its unique layout and two 180 degree turns. But in contrast, SMI is also in possession of two of shaped D-or tri-ovals: The 2008 Kentucky Speedway and just acquired the Las Vegas Motor Speedway, which can come up with a special feature:

Since 2006, the Speedway has got a ribbon of asphalt with so-called "progressive banking" on the outskirts of the metropolis players as well as Homestead. This means nothing else than that the superelevation increases as we move closer to the SAFER Barrier. Boring race necessitated this measure and so the banking in Las Vegas was increased from 12 ° to 20 °, which one now stands exactly between the aforementioned types of track and reaches speeds similar in Charlotte, Atlanta or Texas. Better Racing arises from the fact that you can be out on all lanes quite the same speed.

The track has been around since 1996, when the Truck Series started there first, the Nationwide Series, followed one year later in 1998 and ultimately the Cup. The race in the premier league are probably sold out on a regular basis, if we are to believe the official SMI and the route wants desperately another date on the calendar. But there is one big problem: A second Cup race takes owner Bruton Smith allocate internally, so what another SMI track would be fatal.

20.901 total views, 11 today views

Las Vegas Motor Speedway (1,5 Meilen, Intermediate, D-shaped) in Las Vegas, Nevada

Das Oval in der Wüste von Nevada ist einer der im Kalender so prominent vertretenen „cookie cutter“-Rennstrecken. Dieser Begriff bezeichnet die 1,5-Meilen-Speedways, welche allesamt aussehen, als wären sie mit derselben gigantischen Plätzchenform ausgestochen worden. Streng genommen muss man aber zwischen den stark überhöhten Quad-Ovalen von Speedway Motorsports Inc (Atlanta, Charlotte, Texas) und den D-shaped- bzw. Tri-Ovalen der NASCAR-eigenen International Speedway Corporation (Chicagoland, Kansas) unterscheiden. Dazu besitzt die ISC noch den Homestead-Miami Speedway mit seinem eigenwilligen Layout und zwei 180°-Kurven. Aber im Gegensatz dazu ist SMI auch im Besitz zweier D-shaped- bzw. Tri-Ovale: Der 2008 erworbene Kentucky Speedway und eben der Las Vegas Motor Speedway, welcher mit einer Besonderheit aufwarten kann:

Seit 2006 hat der Speedway am Rande der Spielermetropole ebenso wie Homestead ein Asphaltband mit sogenanntem „progressiven Banking“ bekommen. Das bedeutet nichts anderes, als dass die Kurvenüberhöhung zunimmt, je weiter man sich der SAFER-Barrier nähert. Langweilige Rennen erforderten diese Maßnahme und so wurde das Banking in Las Vegas von 12° auf 20° erhöht, womit man nun genau zwischen den zuvor angesprochenen Streckentypen steht und ähnliche Geschwindigkeiten wie in Charlotte, Atlanta oder Texas erreicht. Besseres Racing entsteht dadurch, dass man auf allen Fahrspuren ziemlich gleichschnell unterwegs sein kann.

Die Strecke gibt es seit 1996, damals startete die Truck Serie dort zuerst, die Nationwide Series folgte ein Jahr später und 1998 letztendlich auch der Cup. Die Rennen der ersten Liga sind wohl regelmäßig ausverkauft, wenn man den Offiziellen von SMI glauben darf und die Strecke wünscht sich händeringend ein weiteres Datum im Rennkalender. Doch da gibt es ein großes Problem: Ein zweites Cup-Rennen müsste Besitzer Bruton Smith intern zuteilen, was also einer anderen SMI-Strecke zum Verhängnis werden würde.

20,249 total views, 27 views today