Kentucky Speedway (1.5 miles, Intermediate, tri-oval) in Sparta, Kentucky

The Kentucky Speedway is a typical 1.5-mile oval - a so-called cookie-cutter. Gives this name to the generic intermediate ovals like in order to underline her among themselves quite similar appearance: punched out like a cookie cutter for Christmas cookies. The oval in Sparta, Kentucky is doing the same age Kansas Speedway on next, as he and 14 ° in the turns and 8-10 ° on the home straight only about one degree is less inflated than his brother in the Midwest. The backstretch is nevertheless still at a manageable Banking of 4 °, as is a degree less than in Kansas.

Together with the two intermediate ovals and the Chicagoland Speedway was completed in 2001 as the last member of triplets this time. You can see the slightly different ovals like to summarize in a group, because so far yielded, after all Chicagoland the best comparative figures for Kansas. But only the last sibling got a place in the newly expanded 2001 calendar of the Sprint Cup, while the Kentucky Speedway for the time being had to make do with one race in the Trucks and the Nationwide Series. This occurred presumably because the NASCAR International Speedway Corporation's (ISC), there was responsible for the construction of the other two intermediate ovals, while Kentucky was in the independent privately owned.

Owner Jerry Carroll was not even agree that his Speedway had received no place in the Sprint Cup and pulled unceremoniously in court. After several years, ended the dispute in 2008 with a defeat of Carroll, which NASCAR could not demonstrate the probably obvious cartels. The last possibility, still to come to an appointment in Calendar, offered at this time a sale to the ISC competing company Speedway Motorsports Inc. (SMI) race tracks magnate Burton Smith. However, a potential place for the 2009 season could be so no longer realize and also quickly became clear that Smith would probably sacrifice one of his race on an SMI track for Kentucky had.

In mid-2010 it was known then, that would not lose more regularly sold-out Atlanta Motor Speedway one of its data to allow Kentucky a race in the Sprint Cup. As part of the preparation for this premiere event SMI expanded the seating capacity of the oval again from 66,000 to 107,000 seats, which in fact could be reported only nine days before the race as sold. The first event of the Sprint Cup at the Kentucky Speedway was the same way, planned as a triple-header, with Nationwide Series and the trucks in tow.

21.069 total views, 15 views today

Kentucky Speedway (1,5 Meilen, Intermediate, Trioval) in Sparta, Kentucky

Der Kentucky Speedway ist ein typisches 1,5-Meilen-Oval – ein sogenannter Cookie-Cutter. Diesen Namen gibt man den generischen Intermediate-Ovalen gerne, um damit ihr untereinander ziemlich ähnliches Aussehen zu unterstreichen: ausgestanzt wie mit einer Ausstechform für Weihnachtsplätzchen. Das Oval in Sparta, Kentucky kommt dabei dem gleichaltrigen Kansas Speedway am nächsten, da er mit 14° in den Kurven und 8-10° auf der Zielgeraden nur ca. ein Grad weniger überhöht ist als sein Bruder im Mittleren Westen. Die Gegengerade kommt immerhin noch auf ein überschaubares Banking von 4°, ebenso ein Grad weniger als in Kansas.

Gemeinsam mit den beiden Intermediate Ovalen wurde 2001 auch der Chicagoland Speedway als letztes Mitglied der Drillinge dieser Zeit fertiggestellt. Man kann die etwas unterschiedlichen Ovale gerne in einer Gruppe zusammenfassen, denn bisher lieferte immerhin Chicagoland die besten Vergleichswerte für Kansas. Doch nur die letztgenannten Geschwister bekamen 2001 einen Platz im frisch erweiterten Kalender des Sprint Cups, während der Kentucky Speedway vorerst mit jeweils einem Rennen der Trucks sowie der Nationwide Series vorliebnehmen musste. Dazu kam es vermutlich, weil die NASCAR-eigene International Speedway Corporation (ISC) sich für den Bau der beiden anderen Intermediate-Ovale verantwortlich zeigte, während Kentucky sich im unabhängigen Privatbesitz befand.

Owner Jerry Carroll war gar nicht damit einverstanden, dass sein Speedway keinen Platz im Sprint Cup erhalten hatte und zog kurzerhand vor Gericht. Nach etlichen Jahren endete dieser Rechtsstreit 2008 mit einer Niederlage von Carroll, welcher NASCAR die vermutlich offensichtliche Kartellbildung nicht ausreichend nachweisen konnte. Die letzte Möglichkeit, doch noch an einen Termin im Kalender zu kommen, bot zu diesem Zeitpunkt ein Verkauf an das ISC-Konkurrenzunternehmen Speedway Motorsports Inc. (SMI) von Rennstrecken-Magnat Burton Smith. Ein erhoffter Platz für die Saison 2009 ließ sich damit jedoch nicht mehr realisieren und schnell wurde außerdem klar, dass Smith wohl eines seiner Rennen auf einer SMI-Strecke für Kentucky opfern würde müsse.

Mitte 2010 gab man dann bekannt, dass der nicht mehr regelmäßig ausverkaufte Atlanta Motor Speedway eines seiner Daten verlieren würde, um Kentucky ein Rennen im Sprint Cup zu ermöglichen. Im Zuge der Vorbereitung auf dieses Premieren-Event erweiterte SMI die Zuschauerkapazität des Ovals noch einmal von 66.000 auf 107.000 Plätze, welche tatsächlich nur neun Tage vor dem Rennen als ausverkauft gemeldet werden konnten. Die erste Veranstaltung des Sprint Cups auf dem Kentucky Speedway wurde übrigens gleich als Triple-Header geplant, mit Nationwide Series und den Trucks im Schlepptau.

24,641 total views, 19 views today