Darlington Raceway

Darlington Raceway (1.366 miles, Intermediate, Egg-shaped) in Darlington, South Carolina

The Darlington Raceway breathes pure tradition, because it is after the Martinsville Speedway the track, which could previously hold the second-longest in the NASCAR calendar. The very unusual oval in South Carolina was built in 1949-1950 and held since then at least one Cup race each year. The unusual egg shape goes back to the ownership of the surrounding land, whose owners wanted to keep his fish ponds rather than to make a circuit court. Originally a layout similar to that of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was being considered, but one side of the oval then had to be built narrower. Thus, the Darlington Raceway received two different turns, which also differ in their bends.

The track is 1.366 miles long and is home to more than 65,000 spectators, the expansion capacity (other than back then) severely limited and an adjacent highway because lying next to ponds. Turn 1 and 2 have a banking of 25 ° and a curve radius of 183m, while Turn 3 and 4 23 ° are steep and have a radius of only 160m. The two straight lines with a length of 375 meters, although exactly the same length, but have a different and extremely low banking with 3 ° (finish line) and 2 ° (back straight) on. The oval in the southern states still also holds a few records: First, the very first 500-mile race in the NASCAR took place here in 1950, nine years before the first Daytona 500 On the other hand, it was held on the first completely paved oval.

The different curves make a good set similar to Pocono difficult, either the car is neat or just in the other two turns in Turn 1 and 2. The transition to the straight line of more than 20 ° to almost 0 °, makes the curve output also like to have some wall contacts because the only fast line also results in Darlington exactly along the wall and you the car just can not perfectly to all curves . This touches here far more often rather than elsewhere, so the resulting "paint damage" as a selling point are sometimes called "Darlington Stripes". The long-drawn black lines on the outside wall to hear the same name and make the oval to the "Lady in Black".

The legendary first 500-mile race took place from 1950 to 2004 traditionally held on Labor Day and had the designation "Southern 500". Since 1957 there have been annual even a second race in Darlington, which was stretched in the distance gradually from 300 to 500 miles also. In the course of a calendar change in 2005 in favor of a second Texas race, the Southern 500 fell through the bottom and the May date was the only event of the year. Since the former sponsor Dodge in 2009 took up his hat, the race could at least be held back than Southern 500, though not in its usual date. Two more Darlington facts: On the one hand were the target and back straight swapped in an earlier restructuring and other 2007 got the track a new strip of asphalt. This GPS technology was used in order not to change the original character as possible - which is also a success, according to driver opinions.

11,963 total views, 7 views today

4 Comments to "Darlington Raceway"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Darlington Raceway (1,366 Meilen, Intermediate, Egg-shaped) in Darlington, South Carolina

Der Darlington Raceway atmet pure Tradition, denn er ist nach dem Martinsville Speedway die Strecke, welche sich bisher am zweitlängsten im NASCAR-Kalender halten konnte. Das sehr ungewöhnliche Oval in South Carolina wurde zwischen 1949 und 1950 gebaut und veranstaltet seitdem mindestens ein Cup-Rennen pro Jahr. Die ungewöhnliche Ei-Form geht auf die Besitzverhältnisse des umgebenden Landes zurück, dessen Eigentümer seine Fischteiche lieber behalten wollte, als einer Rennstrecke Platz zu machen. Ursprünglich war ein ähnliches Layout wie das des Indianapolis Motor Speedways angedacht, doch eine Seite des Ovals musste daraufhin schmaler gebaut werden. So erhielt der Darlington Raceway zwei verschiedene Turns, welche sich ebenfalls in ihrer Kurvenüberhöhung unterscheiden.

Die Strecke ist 1,366 Meilen lang und beherbergt maximal 65.000 Zuschauer, die Ausbaukapazitäten sind wegen nebenliegender Teiche (andere als damals) und einer angrenzenden Autobahn stark eingeschränkt. Turn 1 und 2 haben ein Banking von 25° und einen Kurvenradius von 183m, während Turn 3 und 4 23° steil sind und einen Radius von nur 160m aufweisen. Die beiden Geraden sind bei einer Länge von 375m zwar exakt gleichlang, weisen aber mit 3° (Zielgerade) und 2° (Gegengerade) ein unterschiedliches und extrem niedriges Banking auf. Das Oval in den Südstaaten hält außerdem noch ein paar Rekorde: Zum einen fand hier 1950 das allererste 500-Meilen-Rennen der NASCAR statt, neun Jahre vor dem ersten Daytona 500. Zum anderen fand es auf dem ersten komplett asphaltierten Oval statt.

Die unterschiedlichen Kurven machen eine gute Abstimmung ähnlich wie in Pocono schwierig, entweder liegt das Auto in Turn 1 und 2 ordentlich oder eben in den beiden anderen Turns. Der Übergang auf die Geraden von mehr als 20° auf fast 0° sorgt im Kurvenausgang auch gerne mal für einige Mauerkontakte, weil die einzig schnelle Linie in Darlington zudem genau an der Mauer entlang führt und man den Wagen eben nicht perfekt auf alle Kurven abstimmen kann. Diese Berührungen finden hier weit öfter statt als anderswo, weswegen die entstehenden „Lackschäden“ als Alleinstellungsmerkmal auch gerne „Darlington Stripes“ genannt werden. Die langgezogenen schwarzen Striche an der Außenmauer hören auf denselben Namen und machen das Oval zur „Lady in Black“.

Das legendäre erste 500-Meilen-Rennen fand von 1950 bis 2004 traditionell am Labor Day statt und hatte die Bezeichnung „Southern 500“. Seit 1957 gab es jährlich sogar ein zweites Rennen in Darlington, welches in der Distanz allmählich von 300 auf ebenfalls 500 Meilen gestreckt wurde. Im Zuge einer Kalenderänderung 2005 zugunsten eines zweiten Texas-Rennens fiel das Southern 500 unten durch und das Mai-Datum blieb der einzige Termin des Jahres. Seit der ehemalige Sponsor Dodge 2009 seinen Hut nahm, konnte das Rennen zumindest wieder als Southern 500 stattfinden, wenn auch nicht am gewohnten Termin. Noch zwei weitere Darlington-Fakten: Zum einen wurden Ziel- und Gegengerade im Rahmen eines früheren Umbaus vertauscht und zum anderen bekam die Strecke 2007 ein neues Asphaltband. Dabei wurde GPS-Technik eingesetzt, um möglichst nichts am Originalcharakter zu verändern – was laut Fahrermeinungen auch geglückt ist.

15,727 total views, 7 views today