Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2.5 miles, Intermediate / Super Speedway, Rectangular) in Speedway, Indiana

Since 1994, once raced at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in, the otherwise almost exclusively belongs to the Indy cars. The track itself is for NASCAR ratios a little unusual, because 2.5 miles Indy is, by definition, actually a Super Speedway. However, the banking 9 ° 12 'not steep enough to reach speeds of over 150mph in the curves. While you drive on the two long straights with more than 200mph, but omitted the NASCAR in Indianapolis with the usual "restrictor plates". 160 rounds is therefore the distance on the 400-mile race. In 1996, the tradition that the winner of the race the legendary "yard of bricks" kisses. Dale Jarrett could even make a "ceremonial" from NASCAR to IndyCar with this action.

But other issues are worth mentioning: 1998 repeated Jeff Gordon was the first driver his victory, he even added two more in 2001 and 2004. 2004 was also the very first Cup race at all, which saw a "green-white-checker finish". In this extra round Jeff Gordon went to the leader Mark Martin (blowouts) and Dale Earnhardt Jr (engine damage) over, curiously, both were in trouble. In 2007, Juan Pablo Montoya, the first driver who had participated in all three major races at Indy, namely before the Indianapolis 500 and the Formula 1 GP of the United States. 2008 was a chaos as tire race in history where the rubber had rubbed off within ten rounds up the carcass and so many "competition cautions" had to be proclaimed. Goodyear abolished in 2009 remedy, because there have been as many as seven tire tests carried out so that the like is not repeated. In the said year then succeeded almost Montoya's first oval victory in NASCAR, but a speeding in the pit lane made all my dreams come to naught.

While NASCAR does not publish the number of spectators, but go all observers assume that in the first edition in 1994 as many fans as never before visited a Cup race. To date, Indy runner is in the audience. The premiere also brought up to the time the highest prize money for a win, because Jeff Gordon got with 613,000 US dollars, more than twice as much as the premium Daytona winner of the year, Sterling Marlin. Meanwhile, Indy and Texas share but second place behind the highlight of the season, in which there is with invested $ 1.5 million now to win more than three times again. The more than $ 500,000, however, ensure that the winner receives as much attention as the Daytona 500 winner. Jeff Gordon was able to increase significantly its fame after winning in 1994.

27.489 total views, 11 views today